Star Thrower Farm

Last fall, I had the wonderful experience of visiting and photographing several local farms. My adventures started with a fascinating tour, cheese-making primer, and tasting (yum!) with Deborah Pikovsky at  Star Thrower Farm in Glencoe, MN.

At Star Thrower, owners Scott and Deborah Pikovsky raise more than 350 gorgeous Icelandic sheep and lambs. The sheep spend most of their lives nibbling a healthy mix of grasses, legumes, and alfalfa under the watchful eye of three guard llamas (I could only get close to the white one. From across the fence).

I fell in love with the sheep who responded to me and my camera with open curiosity. They stood still and looked straight into the lens as if striking a pose! So much personality and variety – I could have photographed them all day.

And, the pastoral landscape – dotted with happy sheep, and framed by the last remnants of autumn blaze – could not have been more peaceful or picturesque.

The visit ended in the farmhouse kitchen, tasting Star Thrower’s artisan sheep’s milk cheeses. The buttery Camembert was my favorite. I also had my first, tangy spoonful of Skyr, a kind of Icelandic yogurt, drizzled with honey; it was on my granola the next morning. Star Thrower cheese is available seasonally, after the lambs have been weaned and the pastures are green.  So I have a few months to day-dream about a taste of the Ubriaco they call, “Three Sheeps to the Wind”.

I’ll return to Star Thrower Farm this spring to greet the lambs of 2012. Adorable photos to come.

Please visit the Star Thrower Farm website to learn more about this lovely farm. They also sell fresh Icelandic lamb, handmade soap, lambskins and fleece,  homespun Lopi yarn and handknit woolens. Or stop by the Star Thrower booth at the Fulton Farmer’s Market (opening late May).

2 thoughts on “Star Thrower Farm

  1. You can imagine how lovely I think this is. I can’t wait to go there, Gary would enjoy it, too, as he loves lambchops. Love the sheep and the llamas do look like guard llamas. Wonderful to give us this picture gift this season. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

