06.20.13 sweet peony

The peonies are woven into my earliest memories. Before words, embedded in the cells of my childhood there is abundant beauty and intoxicating perfume and, of course, it’s all crawling with ants. The peonies in my mind’s eye sprawl luxuriously under trees in the backyard and around the houses of my grandmothers and great-grandmothers. They wrap me up in bittersweetness and leave too soon, their scent lingering on the summer breeze.

blog062013_peony171/365: peony

2 thoughts on “06.20.13 sweet peony

  1. All the words to describe how I feel about the peony and all the memories were summed up by your picture and the story that went with it. Thank You.

Leave a Reply

