09.13.13 abandoned

Abandoned houses are a childhood fascination I never outgrew. As a little girl  riding in the backseat, I craned to get a closer look of the empty farmhouses. They were my landmarks on the drive to my grandparents’ house in rural Minnesota.

I loved to imagine the stories of the families. It was deliciously sad, mysterious and unfathomable that people would leave their homes to be slowly reclaimed by the wild. I always wanted to peer through the window or step inside to see what they’d left behind.

doll256/365: porcelain doll

One thought on “09.13.13 abandoned

  1. Perfect sentiment! I’ve enjoyed the same for many of the same reasons… so sad to see those peaceful yet tough young farm years left behind by so much of America.

Leave a Reply

