dinner is served

242/365: burrito massacre abstract

blog090315_BurritoMassacreAbstract

The other night I completed my first ever trail run. It’s something I’ve been interested in trying for awhile now. It was really hot and the hills kicked my butt but I’m excited to try again in a couple weeks.

After a shower, I opened a cold beer and cooked up the food that has sustained me for over 20 years: a bean and cheese burrito smothered in salsa and sour cream.

At that moment (approximately 9:30pm), in my PJ’s with my hot dinner in front of me and my fork in hand, I realized that, AGAIN, I had forgotten to take a photo all day. I pulled out my iPhone and snapped two godawful pictures of my plate. When it came time to post one, I was mortified: it looked like a burrito massacre. The light was bad, the salsa was garishly red, and there was nothing remotely artful about any of it. Still, I figured it was better than showing up empty-handed for the third time in a week.

I couldn’t bring my self to share the photo. So I went completely berserk with Photoshop and turned it into something I could stomach.

Bon appetit.

Leave a comment