anniversary

One year ago today, I walked out of my office for the last time. I closed the door on the cold comfort of a steady paycheck at the hands of days, weeks, and years stuck in an unhappy situation. Outside that door? A world of possibilities. The great unknown.

Sometimes it’s terrifying to be free. And I’m still figuring out the path ahead and how to keep moving forward without exactly knowing the destination. But this journey is vast, abundant, and worth every stumble. Plus, I’m traveling with the very best of companions.

If I start to panic, I try to remember to take a deep breath, relax, and go boldly because, well, WHY NOT? Mary Oliver’s lines are one of my favorite reminders:

Tell me, what is it you plan to do
with your one wild and precious life?

(from “The Summer Day”)

6 thoughts on “anniversary

Leave a Reply

